Lucknow is the capital of Uttar Pradesh and it has always been a multicultural city and famous for courtly manners, beautiful gardens, poetry, music, and fine cuisine. It is also known as the Golden City of the East, Shiraz-i-Hind and the Constantinopole of India. Situated on the banks of river Gomti, it dates back to the time of the Suryavanshi dynasty. In the olden times, it served as the capital of the nawabs os Awadh and it is one of the reasons why it is also called as the city of the Nawabs.


Lucknow is famous for its historical monuments. Of the monuments standing today Residency, Rumi Darwaja, Bara Imambara popularly known as Bhulbhullaiya, Hussainabad clock tower, Chhota Imambara are notable examples. These have been supplemented by a recently built Ambedkar Memorial which is a magnificent, modern creation in sandstone.


Even after witnessing tremendous modernization, Lucknow has managed to retain its old-age charm and glory. Infact, it was in the streets of the city only that Tabla and Sitar were born. Even though high rised residential comlexes have emerged all around , the city is still as charismatic as before.




The jurisdiction of Central Excise & Service Tax Commissionerate Lucknow, extends to Districts of Faizabad, Ambedkar Nagar, Gonda, Balrampur, Bahraich, Shrawasti, Basti, Sitapur, Hardoi, Lakhimpur Kheri, Shahjahanpur, Raibareilly, Sultanpur, Amethi, Fatehpur, Lucknow & Barabanki of the state of Uttar Pradesh.
The Central Excise & Service Tax Commissionerate Lucknow comprises of following divisions headed by Deputy/ Assistant Commissioners. These divisions consist of Ranges headed by Superintendents.









Lucknow I

Central Excise

Lucknow (Cis-Gomti)

Amausi, Sarojini Nagar, Talkatora, Aishbagh, Rajendra Nagar.



Central Excise

Lucknow (Trans-Gomti) and Barabanki    

Barabanki-I, Barabanki-II, Chinhat I, Chinhat II, Aliganj.


Service Tax
Division Lucknow

Service Tax

Whole of the revenue districts of Lucknow & Barabanki

Range I- Assesses with their first alphabet A,B & C 

Range II- Assesses with their first alphabet  D,E & F

Range III- Assesses with their first alphabet G,H & I

Range IV- Assesses with their first alphabet J,K & L 

Range V- Assesses with their first alphabet M,N & O 

Range VI- Assesses with their first alphabet P,Q & R    

Range VII- Assesses with their first alphabet S,T,U & all digits

Range VIII- Assesses with their first alphabet V,W,X,Y & Z



Central Excise & Service Tax

Raebareli, Sultanpur, Fatehpur & Amethi.

Raebareli I, Raebareli II, Fatehpur, Jagdishpur.



Central Excise & Service Tax

Sitapur, Shahjahanpur, Hardoi and Lakhimpur-Kheri.

Sitapur, Hardoi, Lakhimpur-Kheri, Shahjahanpur, Golagokarannath.



Central Excise & Service Tax

Basti, Shrawasti, Bahraich, Gonda, Balrampur, Faizabad & Ambedkar Nagar

Bahraich, Basti, Faizabad, Gonda, Manakpur